Artists in Residence

The Kandinsky Trio

Now in its 31st season, the Kandinsky Trio has established itself as one of America's foremost chamber ensembles, garnering enthusiastic reviews on its many national tours. The Trio consists of Elizabeth Bachelder (piano), Alan Weinstein (cello), and Benedict Goodfriend (violin). The members of the trio are graduates of the New England Conservatory and the Eastman School of Music. The Kandinsky is one of only five piano trios ever to win the prestigious Chamber Music America Residency Award. In addition, the ensemble has received awards from the Presser and Carpenter Foundations to extend its artistry and unique residency ideas to underserved communities. For more information, please visit the Kandinsky Trio website.

Marianne Sandborg

Marianne Sandborg is Resident Artist at Roanoke College, where she teaches voice, and is also organist and co-director of music at Second Presbyterian Church in Roanoke. She earned the Bachelor of Music Degree at Old Dominion University and the M.M. in Voice from the University of Illinois. The Roanoke Times has said that she "is incapable of singing anything without making it sound beautiful," and has described her singing as "ravishing." Opera News said of her Zerlina that she sang with "style and vocal agility." She has been heard frequently with the Roanoke Symphony Orchestra, under the batons of both David Wiley and Victoria Bond; Opera Roanoke, Roanoke Valley Choral Society, and the Blacksburg Master Chorale, among other groups. Ms. Sandborg has also collaborated with American composers Daniel Pinkham and Gunther Schuller, and has debuted compositions by RSO's former composer-in- residence Margaret Brouwer and Roanoke College faculty member Gordon Marsh. She and her husband, Jeffrey, were the 1998 winners of the Perry F. Kendig Award for Excellence in the Arts, in addition to Ms. Sandborg's award for "Best Vocalist" for 2000, as voted by the readers of Roanoker Magazine. She was a semi-finalist in the New York Oratorio Competition and the Yrjö Kilpinen International Voice Competition and, in March 2003, was first-prize winner in the Philadelphia Cathedral/Diana Barnhart American Art Song Competition. For more information, please visit her homepage.