Aerial view of campus
By Roanoke College News

Now Accepting Nominations for Outstanding Salemite!

Roanoke College wants to show its appreciation for a Salem resident who has made a positive impact on the Salem community this year. Nominations are now open for the 23rd annual Charles Brown Award.

This award was named in honor of the first Dean of Roanoke College and the former mayor of Salem, Charles Brown. The award is given each year to someone who is a dedicated Salem citizen who helps improve the quality of life in Salem. Nominees must be Salem residents. Please consider nominating an outstanding Salemite. 

Nomination deadline is August 19th. Please include the nominee's name, contact information, background and reason for their nomination. Tell us a bit about the nominee's background and why you think they have contributed positively to the quality of life in Salem.

Email nominations to by August 19th. 

Previous winners of the award include:

William Paxton, Jr. (1997)

Clarence Caldwell, Jr. (1998)

James Taliaferro (1999)

Ray Robinson (2000)

Norwood "Woody" Middleton (2001)

Warren Moorman (2002)

Louise Braxton (2003)

Roy Henrickson (2003)

Dr. Esther Brown (2003)

Gerald Pace (2004)

Missouri "Mo" Nelson (2004)

Brian Hoffman (2005)

Dr. Richard "Dick" Fisher (2006)

Dr. Walter Hunt (2007)

Dr. N. Wayne Tripp (2008)

Harry Haskins (2009)

Sonny Tarpley (2010)

Herman Reavis (2011)

Sally Southard (2012)

Bob Rotanz (2013)

Carey Harveycutter (2014)

Joan Dorsey (2014)

Dr. J. Burks Logan (2015)

William "Bill" Sinkler (2015)

John Hildebrand (2016)

Diane Washenberger (2017)

Eric "Ric" Atkins (2017)

Forest Jones (2017)

David Turk (2017)

James Bryant (2018)