Faculty Affiliates

About the Director

Dr. Jesse Bucher

Jesse Bucher is Associate Professor of History, Director of the Center for Studying Structures of Race, and Coordinator of the African and African Diaspora Studies Concentration at Roanoke College.  He has a PhD in African history from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities where he was a MacArthur Scholar at the Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change.  Prior to arriving at Roanoke College in 2012, he was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the  Centre for Humanities Research at University of the Western Cape.  Bucher’s research utilizes postcolonial and critical theory to interpret the history of political violence, colonialism, and racial politics in both Tanzania and South Africa.  He has worked on projects related to histories of public commemoration, memorialization, and monuments.  At Roanoke College he regularly offers courses on the history of slavery, on African history, and on black political movements throughout Africa and the African Diaspora. He can be reached at bucher@roanoke.edu.

Affiliated Faculty

Melanie Almeder

Dr. Melanie Almeder
John P. Fishwick Professor of English
almeder@roanoke.edu

A photo of Shannon Anderson

Shannon L. Anderson
Associate Professor, Director of Strategic Health Initiatives
slanderson@roanoke.edu

A photo of Nadia Martinez Carillo

Dr. Nadia I. Martinez-Carrillo
Assistant Professor
English and Communication Studies
nmartinez@roanoke.edu 

A photo of Meeta Mehrota

Dr. Meeta Mehrotra
Department Chair of Sociology
Associate Professor of Sociology
mehrotra@roanoke.edu

A photo of Melanie Almeder

Dr. Teresa A. Milbrodt
Assistant Professor of English
milbrodt@roanoke.edu

A photo of Chelsea Peters

Chelsea N. Peters
Assistant Professor, Environmental Studies 
peters@roanoke.edu

A photo of Alex Ponomareff

Dr. Alexander Ponomareff
Assistant Professor
CSSR Postdoctoral Fellow
ponomareff@roanoke.edu

A photo of Samantha Rosenthal

Dr. G Samantha Rosenthal
Assistant Professor, History
rosenthal@roanoke.edu

A photo of Julia Sienkewicz

Dr. Julia Sienkewicz
Associate Professor of Art History 
sienkewicz@roanoke.edu

A photo of Lisa Stoneman

Lisa Stoneman
Associate Professor, Department Chair

stoneman@roanoke.edu

A photo of Stella Xu

Dr. Stella Y. Xu
John R. Turbyfill Professor of History
sxu@roanoke.edu

                                                                          Prof. Katrina Webber
Photo to come                                                                                                   Visiting Instructor
English and Communication Studies