Care Team

The Care Team is comprised of College officials who meet regularly to review students of concern. Information that you have about students who may be in distress, in need of medical attention, who may pose a threat to self or others, or who are experiencing difficulty with the transition to college, should be reported to a member of the Care Team. Additionally, if you have concerns about a student's academic performance, please report those concerns as there may be underlying issues that Care Team can address. This centralized team will investigate your concerns and provide timely and appropriate intervention. 

If you are concerned about a student's immediate health, safety, or welfare, please call the Campus Safety Office (540-375-2310). Campus Safety staff members can assist you with assessing the situation and determining if immediate action is necessary or if a referral to the Care Team might be more appropriate.

To make a report to the Care Team, please click:

RC Cares Button

The Care Team is comprised of key staff members from several College departments. This team approach helps ensure consistency of care and action. Each team member brings a variety of skills and perspectives to the table, which helps ensure that our efforts are well-informed, appropriate and made with the best interest of all community members in mind. 

The Care Team consists of the following members:


Care Team Chairperson
Ms. Amy Perkins
Assistant Dean of Students, Dean of Students Office
perkins@roanoke.edu
540.375.2592

Rev. Chris Bowen
Dean of the Chapel, Chaplain's Office
bowen@roanoke.edu
540.375.2300

Ms. Becky Harman
Asst Director of Academic Services for Accessible Education
harman@roanoke.edu 
540.375.2247

Mr. Allan Lockett
Associate Registrar, Registrar's Office
lockett@roanoke.edu
540.375.2211

Ms. Sandy McGhee
Assistant Dean of Students
Director, Student Health & Counseling Services
mcghee@roanoke.edu
540.375.2286

Mr. Joe Mills
Interim Director of Campus Safety
mills@roanoke.edu
540.375.2310

Mr. Tom Rambo
Dean of Student Affairs
rambo@roanoke.edu
540.375.2311

Mr. Jimmy Whited
Director, Residence Life & Housing
whited@roanoke.edu
540.375.2308