Faculty Awards

Pursuing excellence in teaching, professional life, and service to the College are all aspects of faculty life at Roanoke College, and each spring the Dean acknowledges outstanding faculty members through awards given in these different areas. The teaching award is given each year; the other awards are given in alternate years. 

Nominations for the 2021-2022 awards (teaching, professional life, and service) will be accepted starting February 1, 2022. Send your nomination letter to Mrs. Susan Rambo (srambo@roanoke.edu)


The Dean’s Exemplary Teaching Award recognizes teaching that not only focuses on the content and skills of one’s scholarly field, but also helps students develop as whole persons and prepare for lives of purpose and meaning.  Although such teaching may take many forms, it is clearly demonstrated through an instructor’s design and implementation of a well-organized plan for learning, incorporation of new knowledge and emerging methodologies, engagement of students through activities and assignments, creation of a positive learning environment, rigorous expectations, clear assessment of student work, and ever evolving adaptation of pedagogy to communicate more effectively to each generation of students.

The Dean’s Exemplary Professional Life Award recognizes outstanding professional accomplishments. Every faculty member belongs to both a professional community of scholars and to the community of scholars and students at Roanoke College, which is essential to the intellectual vibrancy of our campus. Engagement in professional development activities and active involvement in professional organizations enhances the role of a faculty member as a teacher-scholar by infusing the faculty member’s teaching with the latest developments in the field. Moreover, a faculty member’s scholarly productivity models for students the habits of intellectual inquiry and the excitement of discovery. Professional life may encompass pedagogical research as well as more traditional research questions. 

The Dean’s Exemplary Service Award recognizes outstanding faculty service – either at Roanoke College or in the larger community – in ways that advance the mission of the College in seeking to develop students as whole persons and prepare them for lives of purpose and meaning.  Professional service may involve many factors, such as the number, quality, range or focus of service activities; honors or awards received from off-campus organizations; and the time invested relative to the time available for service activities. 

Join with us in congratulating recipients of these rewards:


Year Dean's Exemplary Dean's Exemplary Professional
Teaching Award Life & Service Awards
2020-21 Dr. Melanie Trexler Dr. Kathy O'Neill (PL)
2019-20 Dr. Darcey Powell Dr. Mary Henold (S)
2018-19 Dr. Lindsey Osterman Dr. Elizabeth Ackley (PL)
2017-18 Dr. Adam Childers Dr. Christopher Lassiter (S)
2016-17 Dr. William Brenzovich Dr. David Nichols (PL)
2015-16 Dr. Lynn Talbot Dr. Michael Hakkenberg (S)
2014-15 Dr. Brent Adkins Dr. Robert Schultz (PL)
2013-14 Dr. Shannon Anderson Dr. Chad Morris (S)
2012-13 Dr. Virginia Stewart Dr. Monica Vilhauer (PL)
2011-12 Dr. David G. Taylor Dr. W. Gary Hollis, Jr. (S)
2010-11 Dr. Julie S. Lyon Dr. Paul R. Hinlicky (PL)
2009-10 Dr. Christopher Lassiter Dr. N. Jane Ingram (S)
2008-09 Dr. Christpher R. Lee & Dr. Roland B. Minton (PL)
Dr. Robert A. Willingham
2007-08 Dr. Kristi L. Hoffman Dr. Richard G. Grant (S)
2006-07 Dr. Benjamin P. Huddle Dr. J. Brooks Crozier (PL)
2005-06 Dr. Florinda Ruiz Dr. Charlene F. Kalinoski (S)
2004-05 Dr. Leonard D. Pysh Dr. Anil M. Shende (PL)
2003-04 Dr. Garry A. Fleming Dr. Hans M. Zorn (S)
2002-03 Dr. Melanie Almeder Dr. Gregory L. Weiss (PL)
2001-02 Dr. W. Kevin Baker Prof. Eberle L. Smith (S)
2000-01 Dr. Richard G. Grant Dr. W. Gary Hollis, Jr. (PL)
1999-00 Dr. Paul Hanstedt Dr. Gail H. McKee (S)
1998-99 Dr. R. Scott Hardwig Dr. Gerald R. McDermott (PL)
1997-98 Dr. Roland B. Minton Dr. J. Mack Welford (S)
1996-97 Dr. Ned P. Wisnefske Dr. Robert D. Denham (PL)
1995-96 Dr. Gregory L. Weiss Prof. N. George Arthur (S)
1994-95 Dr. James M. Ogier Dr. Abdulnasser F. Barghouty (PL)
1993-94 Dr. Bobbye G. Au Prof. James Buriak (S)
1992-93 Dr. Jan H. Lynch Dr. Robert E. Jenkins (PL)
1991-92 Dr. Edward L. McClelland Dr. Susan P. Millinger (S)
1990-91 Dr. C. William Hill Dr. Robert Benne (PL)
1989-90 Dr. Sarah J. Simmons Dr. Patricia M. Gathercole (PL)
    Dr. Benjamin P. Huddle (S)
1988-99 Dr. Denis A. Lape