List of Staff Holidays

Roanoke College observes certain significant holidays each year as paid holidays. These days are looked upon as days of historical and religious importance. All full-time and part-time regular employees who qualify will be given paid time off for these days.

2022 Holiday Schedule

Dates Observance Number of Days
Monday , January 3 New Year's 1
Friday, April 15 Good Friday 1
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day 1
Monday, July 4 Independence Day 1

Thursday-Friday, November 24-25

Thanksgiving 2
Monday- Friday, December 26 -30 Christmas 5
Total Days 11

2023 Holiday Schedule

Dates Observance Number of Days

Monday, January 2

New Year's 1
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King Jr. Day 1
Monday, March 6 Employee Wellbeing Day 1
Friday, April 7 Good Friday 1
Monday, May 8 Employee Wellbeing Day 1
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day 1
Monday, June 19 Juneteenth 1

Tuesday, July 4

Independence Day 1
Thursday-Friday, November 23-24 Thanksgiving 2
Monday- Friday, December 25-29 Christmas 5
Total Days 15

To be eligible for a paid holiday, employees must work their full, regularly scheduled work day which precedes the holiday, the holiday itself (if scheduled to work), and that which follows the holiday unless the absence has been taken as pre-approved vacation or personal leave, or as a sick day substantiated in writing by a physician. If an employee is on an approved Short-Term Disability or Family and Medical Leave, holiday pay will be given.